It never dies, does it?

20 01 2007

I got accepted to Ursinus College recently, and though I was sort of unsure about the amount of activism on campus, since that’s important to me, I was pretty excited when I got the acceptance letter. It’s really one of my safety schools, but other than it being fairly politically apathetic, I wouldn’t mind going there–it’s got a good psychology program, a beautiful campus (seriously, it should probably win an award or something), small class sizes, an art museum on campus (!), a really nice theatre, and they give good aid. Still, I had a nagging doubt in the back of my mind that there was a large percentage of white frat-boys on campus, and though for a liberal arts college, it has a decent POC population, I was afraid that there were some problems with racism at Ursinus.
My fears have been confirmed. I shouldn’t even be surprised. :/

Actions

Information

One response

21 02 2007
B

Wow, that sounds awful. Since you’re feminist, have you thought of applying to one of the sister schools (Bryn Mawr, Smith, Mount Holyoke, Wellesley)? Not that they’re not super-white and things are hunky-dory :(. Sorry if that’s an unhelpful suggestion, I imagine application times have passed. But perhaps you can check if some have rolling admission.

Leave a Reply

